Brain Sprinkles 110

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

Imagine Dragons

Music
Imagine Dragons

Imagine Dragons is one of those bands where I like a lot of their songs but don’t really love any. Like, the band’s two albums of full of great songs, but I wouldn’t say I love any of them. I can’t really put my finger on why. Maybe it has something to do with how pop-y they can sound, but that doesn’t make sense because I love pop music. Chalk it up as a mystery. Their first album is worth listening to straight through. From their second album, check out Shots and I Bet My Life.

Kaela Sinclair

I gave Sinclair’s album a listen after I heard she’d become M83’s newest band member. She solo album is completely unremarkable. There’s nothing more to say, sadly.

Stranger Things

TV Drama
Stranger Things

Honestly, if you’re reading this and have yet to watch Netflix’s newest hit Stranger Things, shame on you. This show is too good. Imagine a Stephen King novel set in the ’80s adopted as a TV mini-series directed by Steven Spielberg with a mind-blowingly good electronic soundtrack and you might get an idea of how great Stranger Things is. Everything from the story to the characters to the acting to the directing is superb. Please, for the love of all this is holy, watch this eight-episode series as soon as you can. It’s some of the best TV I’ve ever seen.

Fire Emblem Awakening

Video Game
Fire Emblem Awakening

I’m not normally a fan of strategy games, but for Awakening on the 3DS, I’ll make an exception. The game really is addicting, especially considering the huge roster of characters who can form relationships with others the longer they fight together. Read this Press Start column I wrote on the game.

Leave a Reply

