Brain Sprinkles 48

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

Mad Max

Movie
American Sniper

I watched American Sniper at a drive-in theater with a crappy speaker as my only source of audio, which isn’t exactly the best way to watch a serious movie, but that didn’t really impact my enjoyment of the film. The movie tells the real story of America’s deadliest military sniper who toured four times in Iraq, racking up more than 100 confirmed kills. It’s not Saving Private Ryan, but it’s good war movie, especially knowing it’s true. The ending especially got to me. Give it a watch if you’re interested in war.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Another Harry Potter movie. And we’re not even halfway through! As far as the plot goes, Azkaban features my favorite ending in the series because the time travel component is handled well for children’s media (I love in the books when Harry realized his future self saved himself from the dementors). Really, the movie was just another Harry Potter affair. Ron and Hermione are starting to get a bit closer, which is probably what I’m most interested in, sadly. Still, I’ll see the other five, just to say I did it.

Mad Max: Fury Road

I’d never seen the original Mad Max movie(s) or played the game(s) (are there games, or is just a new one coming out? I don’t even know), so Mad Max: Fury Road wasn’t even on my radar when it was announced. Then I saw its Rotten Tomatoes score. I rushed out the day it released and was pretty much blown away. There’s probably only a few hundred words of spoken dialogue, and the rest of the movie is nonstop, high octane action. Everything from the setting to the vehicle designs to the choreography to the score to the excellent characters is top notch. Mad Max: Fury Road blows away every other action movie in comparison, and it’s a film that thrills minute to minute. Go watch it, if only for the mutilated, bungee cord-suspended guitar player.

Neon Indian

Music
Neon Indian

I’m always willing to check out new indietronica music when I discover it, so when I heard Polish Girl by Neon Indian in GTA V, I had to check out the electronic artist’s full discography. As it turns out, Polish Girl is his most notable song by a long shot. Most of his music is pleasant to listen to but forgotten the moment the next track starts. Future Sick is another tune that sticks out in my mind, but besides those two tracks, Neon Indian didn’t much for me.

Leave a Reply

