Brain Sprinkles 40

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

Searching for Sugar Man

Movie
Drumline

After watching Whiplash last week, I decided to revisit a movie I hadn’t seen in years: Drumline. Can you believe this film came out in 2002? That’s insane to me. Anyway, I loved the movie when I watched it years ago because I have fond memories of being in a marching band. Now, as an aspiring drummer, it means even more to me, but this movie is marred by lots of awkward scenes and a terrible soundtrack, which is disappointing for a music-based movie. It doesn’t help that the main character is detestable. In short, Drumline isn’t as good as I remember, but the marching and drum-playing scenes still make it worthwhile.

Searching for Sugar Man

My girlfriend has been asking me for years to watch this documentary, and for whatever reason, I’d refused. I’m not huge into documentaries unless the subject matter is really intriguing to me (paranormal stuff, war stories, etc.). Searching for Sugar Man is basically about a 70s musician from Detroit with some actually really killer tracks who, for whatever reason, never made it big in the US. Unbeknownst to the artist, Rodriguez, he ended up being bigger than Elvis or the Rolling Stones in South Africa. This documentary chronicles a group of fans’ and journalists’ quest to find Rodriguez and get him the recognition he deserves. The story is humbling, inspiring, and completely unbelievable. Fans of music and feel-good tales shouldn’t pass this one by.

Sufjan Stevens

Music
Sufjan Stevens

I know I’ve spoken about Sufjan at least once before, but the folk artist’s first album release since I’ve become a fan drops at the end of March, and that’s a big deal to me, so I wanted to talk about it. I got early access to the album Carrie & Lowell (it leaked, but I got permission to download it early), and what a touching collection of music it is. The album centers around Sufjan’s estranged mother, Carrie, and second husband, Lowell. Despite touching on subjects I know nothing about, Sufjan’s album is raw and relateable and oh-so beautiful. It’s so simplistic from beginning to end; in a few tracks, you can hear Sufjan’s air conditioner whirring in the background, as he recorded some songs in his Brooklyn apartment. I wish I could share some of my favorite songs, but for now, check out No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross and Should Have Known Better. And then buy this album when it drops at the end of the month.

Leave a Reply

