Brain Sprinkles 39

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

Whiplash

Movie
Whiplash

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I’m not a huge fan of movies. I’d rather sink my time into serial TV shows, a medium I can get invested in. As a new drummer who’s heard great things about Whiplash, I decided to watch it, admittedly just to see what a top-tier drummer plays like. The movie is the fastest hour-and-a-half I’ve experienced watching a film. It’s the story of a drumming student at the world’s best music school who wants to become the next great and his “mentor’s” unorthodox methods to push him to the next level. The story is enthralling, intense, and gripping from start to finish. Part of it was my love for drumming. Another part was my nostalgic memories of high school band. And another part was just my taste in dramas. But if you’ve ever played music in your life (especially in a school), Whiplash deserves your attention, even if for the last ten minutes alone.

House of CardsTV Drama
House of Cards

Speaking of TV serials, I decided it’s time to finally start House of Cards and catch up with the rest of the world. I’m not a fan of politics, but I like the idea of them, even when the subject mostly goes over my head. I’m four episodes in, but House of Cards is shaping up to be a fascinating look at the seedy underbelly of grisly politics. I like the style of having the main character, Frank Underwood (played by the amazing Kevin Spacey), break the fourth wall to narrate directly to the audience, and the journalism bits are a nice treat for me.

Rayman LegendsVideo Game
Rayman Legends

This month’s free game through Xbox’s Games with Gold program is a real winner. Rayman Legends is an awesome 2D platforms with a lot more depth than its cartoonish visual and whimsical charms lead on. My girlfriend and I have been loving the unique level design and obsessive quest to hunt down ever Teensie and Lum for trophies and prizes. It’s addicting, to say the least. The real winner, though, are the fantastic music-based levels at the end of each world. Nothing beats platforming in time to a ridiculous rendition of Black Betty.

Leave a Reply

