Brain Sprinkles 35

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

Akame ga Kill

Anime
Akame ga Kill!

It’s been a while since I’ve watched an anime, so I decided to pick up Akame ga Kill! All I knew going in was that it was violent. I’m only about eight episodes in, but so far it’s about a resistance group known as Night Raid that rises up to challenge a corrupt monarchy during a war. There’s humor, fan service, and plenty of bloody deaths. I won’t say I’m bored with it, but I’m waiting for a compelling hook that will really grab me.

The Room

Movie
The Room

My girlfriend started a bad movie club with her friends, and first up on the list was The Room. I’ve never seen more atrocious acting or nonsensical writing in any medium than what I witnessed in this train wreck of a movie. It’s so bad that I was entertained throughout the enter 90-minute ordeal, and I highly recommend everyone watch this film just to awe at the fact that a group of people produced a steaming pile of garbage and tried to pass it off as a romantic drama.

V/H/S: Viral

Sadly, V/H/S Viral, the newest movie in the latest found-footage horror genre, isn’t much better than The Room. This is the first non-numerical addition to the series, and that’s because Viral divulges from the classic formula in major ways. In Viral, a guy is trying to make a viral video by recording a police chase. As he does so, the movie switches to three separate stories that have nothing to do with the original plot. The only good one is the first, which is about a demonic magician. The rest are garbage, as is the overarching tale of this random guy trying to become internet famous. Really, the movie’s pacing and storytelling is a mess, and the mini-stories peppered throughout are more ridiculous than ever. Not a worthy addition to the franchise, if you ask me.

Wolfenstein The New Order

Video Game
Wolfenstein: The New Order

My mom bought me this game for my birthday (thanks, Mom!), and I’ve been eager to play it after hearing it was the unsung hero of 2014’s game releasing. After beating it twice, I’d agree. It’s a first-person historical fiction shooter set in 1960 after the Nazis win World War II. The world is grim, bleak, and terrifying, and it’s up to the hero, Captain Blazkowicz, to save the world. It sounds corny, but there are some touching moments throughout the story. The plot and characters are really well-developed, especially for a first-person shooter, and the actual gameplay is engaging (even if the enemy A.I. is borderline brain dead).

Leave a Reply

