Brain Sprinkles 34

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

Captain Phillips

Movie
Captain Phillips

I love Tom Hanks. He’s probably my favorite actor. He always plays in awesome movies, so it was a no-brainer for me to watch Captain Phillips. As expected, the movie is full of dramatic and tense moments as Hanks, playing as a ship captain, tries to keep himself and his crew alive as it’s overrun by Somali pirates (played by real Somalis with no acting experience at all). The movie’s a bit long, and there are bouts of boredom considering Phillips spends more than half the movie held at gunpoint in a small lifeboat, but it’s a great flick overall.

Serenity

The TV drama Firefly ends with a ton of loose ends because, sadly, it was canceled far too soon. Fortunately, a feature length film answers plenty of lingering questions and wraps up the series on a nice note. I initially feared that the movie wouldn’t be true to the series’ campy style, but it is. It’s everything you love about Firefly on a grand scale with a bigger budget. Plus, it made my girlfriend cry, so it’s gotta be good.

The Lord of the Ring Appendices

After wrapping up The Lord of the Rings trilogy not long ago, I decided to watch the Appendices again. For those who haven’t seen this series of documentaries, it’s basically 15 to 18 hours of behind-the-scenes footage of everything that went into The Lord of the Rings movies. After watching them for the second time in my life, the idea that I’ll never accomplish anything world-changing in my life has been reaffirmed. There’s something truly inspiring about how much work the people behind these movies put into them. I mean, after seeing the amount of passion these people have, it’s evident that the movies are masterpieces. I don’t think anyone will ever work as hard on a trilogy as this team did ever again. Magic.

Phox by Pip for Partisan Records

Music
PHOX

My girlfriend suggested I check out PHOX, an indie pop/folk band from Baraboo, Wisconsin. I downloaded their three EPs and one album only to find out they basically all feature the same songs, which is a bit weird. Seriously, I think they’ve released some songs, like, three separate times. Weird. Anyway, the band is pretty good. There’s a good mix of male and female vocals with just a tinge of folk inspiration, so it’s a good package overall. I still have to listen to their whole discography, but check out Slow Motion, Evil, and Clubs and Spades.

Orange Is the New Black

TV Comedy
Orange Is the New Black

I’ve had enough of dramas for a bit, so I’ve started Orange Is the New Black, only to find out the show is more of a dramedy than a pure comedy. Luckily, it’s good, so I don’t care. The first thing that surprised me is the nudity. I mean, the debut episode basically begins by showing off the main character’s and the actress who played Donna in That 70s Show’s breasts. I had no clue Netflix series could do that, but I guess it’s not that surprising when I think about it considering the service is closer to HBO than cable. Overall, the series is a fun mix of comedy and drama as tons of characters try to get along in prison. Each episode features flashbacks of main characters, giving deeper insight into their personalities and their reasons for being imprisoned. I’m slowly beginning to like characters I’ve hated, and it’s cool that a show can do that. It’s kinda weird that almost every woman in the show is a lesbian, but hey, what do I know about prison?

Dying Light

Video Game
Dying Light

I got Dying Light from the publisher and reviewed it for Heavy. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

