Brain Sprinkles 29

It’s a new year! You know what that means, right? There are 365 opportunities to experience something new or express your personal creativity. That’s exciting to me. My goals for 2015 include consuming more awesome TV, anime, video games, books, music, and so on while simultaneously producing more of my own writing, music, and creative juices. May 2015 be the year of fresh ideas and tasty Brain Sprinkles.

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

The Legend of Korra

Anime
The Legend of Korra

I’ve spoken about Korra before, but I decided to touch base on the series again after just finishing the fourth and final season. Basically, the controversial and surprising ending was spoiled for me (and I won’t do that to you, so don’t worry), so I had to binge-watch the fourth book to put my mind at ease. My one qualm with the series as a whole was its relentless focus on complex relationships I don’t think 17-year-old kids should be going through or even worrying about. The series ended with a surprising twist in this vein as if to say the whole series was basically about young love when really it was about Korra’s and her friends’ growth as people. Of course, with growth and maturity comes love, but strangely, the final season, in which each character is three years older than they were in book three, is the one season that deals with love the least. I found it kind of odd. That said, I love The Legend of Korra to death, and I think book four was my favorite yet. The series is done forever now, as is the entire universe (the creators won’t be making a second sequel series in the avatar’s universe), but I’m glad the franchise ended so strong. Time for a new anime.

Gizzly Bear

Music
Dr. Dog

I picked up Dr. Dog after hearing one song I liked on Pandora, and I really didn’t love the band. I can’t even say what it is about them that turned me off. I got to the song Rock & Roll and realized I’d heard the band before, but nothing about them stood out. Eh. If you dig classic rock, Dr. Dog has those vibes, so dig in.

Grizzly Bear

Grizzly Bear is another band I picked up after hearing them on Pandora, and I feel the exact same about them as I do Dr. Dog: To me, there’s just nothing special there. Maybe I need to listen to them again and pick up a different album of theirs (I only listened to the latest albums for both artists), but I’m not sure that will help. Two Weeks is a good jam, though (even if the video is terrifying).

Destiny

Video Game
Destiny

Despite mediocre reviews, I’ve been waiting awhile to play Destiny. I love shooting and RPG mechanics, so I’ve been excited to try it out. I finally got it for Christmas and, to my dismay, couldn’t sign into the servers until a couple days ago. Thanks, Obama. Anyway, I’m only a level eight or something, but I’ve been having a lot of fun traversing the planets with my friends, shooting baddies and leveling my character. Destiny does have its problems, and I understand reviewers’ issues, but really, the game can only improve from here with added content and features. I’m excited to see where Destiny will be in a year or two. For now, it’s a great way to relieve stress and just shoot aliens, considering the game’s story is basically nonexistent.

Leave a Reply

