Brain Sprinkles 28

Here it is: the last last Brain Sprinkles post of the year. I only started this blog in June, but I’ve consistently written about the geek culture I’ve consumed over the past several weeks, and I’ve learned a lot about my interests, my passions, and myself in the process. I hope you’ve enjoyed the journey thus far, because with all my Christmas gifts, I’ll be kicking it hard in 2015.

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

STRFKR

Music
STRFKR

Yes, the name of this band is exactly what you think it is, but that’s not why I was drawn to them. I heard them on Pandora and decided to give their discography a listen. A great mix between guitars, synths, and vocals creates an electrifying sound I couldn’t help but fall in love with. To be honest, this indietronica band reminds me of MGMT or M83, two bands I adore, so you can understand why I’m attracted to STRFKR. Strangely, their latest album, Miracle Mile, is their worst (at least in my opinion), but there’s great music found on all four of their albums. Check out Rawnald Gregory Erikson the Second, Isabella of Castille, Mystery Cloud, Quality Time, and Sazed.

Firefly

TV Drama
Firefly

I’d heard how amazing this series is in the sci-fi community. I’m not huge into science fiction, but people can’t help talk about this show, and it’s only 14 episodes long, and I’d just finished Dexter, so I decided to give it a shot. Firefly definitely has its cheesy moments (the theme song especially), but it’s definitely a strong sci-fi drama, even ignoring dated effects and terrible costumes. The protagonists are strong and varied, and the writing is engaging. I’m only three episodes in, but I have a feeling I’ll want more after these 14 episodes run their course. It has such strong Cowboy Bebop vibes that I wonder if one inspired the other in any way.

Pokemon Omega Ruby

Video Game
Pokémon Omega Ruby

I wrote a review of Pokémon Omega Ruby, and I documented my journey through a separate blog series called “Jake’s Pokémon Adventures.” Give ’em a read, why don’t you?

Leave a Reply

