Brain Sprinkles 27

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

Over the Garden Wall

Cartoon
Over the Garden Wall

I’ve been waiting all week to talk about this. I heard from fellow cartoon enthusiasts on Twitter about this miniseries that premiered on Cartoon Network called Over the Garden Wall. I checked it out to see if it was worth binging. The whole series is 12 episodes long at about 11 minutes each, which totals to about the length of a movie. So, with no knowledge at all about what this series was about, my girlfriend and I sat down and watched it. We were blown away. Over the Garden Wall is pure cartoon magic. I haven’t felt this way about animation since the first time I watched Spirited Away, and no American cartoon has ever touched me the way Over the Garden Wall has. The basic premise is two brothers get lost in the woods and have to find their way out, but the world, characters, art, music, story, and genuinely creepy undertones make it a gripping and enchanting tale the whole way through. I can’t recommend this enough. Watch it immediately. It’s the loveliest lie of all.

Bag Raiders

Music
Bag Raiders

I heard these guys on one of the Pandora channels I’ve been listening to and decided to give ’em a shot. Bag Raiders is an electro-pop duo with some serious disco influence, so if that’s your thing, you’ll enjoy these guys. Their music is hit or miss with me, but the songs I like I really like. Definitely listen to Sunlight and Shooting Stars for some cool techno beats and voice samples.

Halo 5 Guardians

Video Game
Halo 5: Guardians

I got early access to the Halo 5 multiplayer beta. Check out my thoughts on Heavy.

Like what you read? Want more? Considering contributing to my Patreon! Thanks for reading my content and checking out my campaign.

Leave a Reply

