Brain Sprinkles 26

Would you look at that. We’re halfway through a full year of Brain Sprinkles. It feels like just last week I got the idea to do this series. I suppose time flies when you’re having fun (or watching weird anime and playing lots of games). Enjoy the post.

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

Bon Iver

Music
Bon Iver

I finally took the time to listen to some new music this week. Well, not really. I’ve listened to Bon Iver before, but I decided to finally write about him. To summarize, Bon Iver is folk music at its finest. I don’t know if this is true, but I’ve heard he spent one winter locked up alone in a cabin writing and recording an entire album on his own. That’s impressive, and you can see the guy’s passion in his art—and art is exactly what this music is. I mean, you can hear the guy’s love and pain and joy in all of his music, and that kind of transparency is rare these days. Listen to Re: Stacks, Flume, and Woods.

Jaws

I’ve been playing Rocksmith 2014 lately (see below), and one of the bands in the game is Jaws. I’d never heard of these guys before, but I grabbed their EP Milkshake and gave them a shot. Considering how hard it is to find their music, I’m gonna venture out and say these guys are pretty underground, and that’s not okay because they’re actually really good. Some of their songs have a surf pop feel (I’m not sure how else to describe it), but it’s great stuff. Check out Stay In, Breeze, and Toucan Surf.

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Novel
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

I finally finished Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. What a dragged-out ordeal that was. That book was almost one-third of a million words, and I just can’t justify that kind of length for young adult book. Still, I had a decent enough time reading through it, even if it took me forever. Now I’m into the Half-Blood Prince, and things are off to a quick start. Hard to believe my Harry Potter adventures will end in just a few months. The writing is still hard to get through (freaking adverbs!), but I enjoy the characters and plots enough. Yeah, I’ve got a love-hate relationship with Rowling, but I’m gonna stick with the series until the end.

Dexter

TV Drama
Dexter

I haven’t spoken about Dexter since Brain Sprinkles 7, but I finally finished the series today. Yeesh. In my original post, I asked, “How on earth did the writers manage to produce 96 hours of this show without sacrificing its quality? Does it really stay compelling and interesting the entire way though?” Well, it turns out they didn’t, and it doesn’t. After season one, the show started to dip, and nothing beat those first eight episodes. There were some highs throughout the series, but I found myself kinda bored some of the time. Oh, and the series finale? Awful. But, despite its faults, I recommend running through this show once your backlog is cleared up. Just don’t expect anything on a Breaking Bad scale.

Rocksmith 2014

Video Game
Rocksmith 2014

Thanks to my job, I got a free copy of Rocksmith 2014 from Ubisoft a few weeks ago. I have a crappy guitar just collecting dust so I figured, what the heck? Might as well learn it. For the past five days now I’ve been playing one hour a day, and while I see moderate improvement, I’m not sure Rocksmith’s 60-day guarantee is real. I mean, I’m learning chords and riffs and whatnot, but I can’t see myself rocking out in two months like the game claims I’ll be able to. I guess time will tell. At least I’m having fun sucking up rock’s most famous tunes in the meantime.

Like what you read? Want more? Considering contributing to my Patreon! Thanks for reading my content and checking out my campaign.

Leave a Reply

