Brain Sprinkles 20

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

Contracted

Movie
Contracted

Contracted is a gross movie about a girl who slowly becomes a living zombie and the process that she undergoes to get to that point. Basically, she rots from the inside out over a three-day period, and you get to see it all, from maggots to rotting teeth to nails falling off. Yeah. Like I said: Gross. For unexplained reasons, people see what is essentially a walking corpse and don’t think much of it. I mean, the woman looks like she has leprosy but still goes about her job serving food to people as a waitress. Doesn’t she have more important things to worry about, like getting medical attention? Other characters even lust for her despite her condition, and that just blows my mind. Like, dude, you’re kissing a zombie. What’s wrong with you?

Lorde

Music
Lorde

It was a recent episode of South Park that convinced me to listen to Lorde, the stage name of a 17-year-old pop artist from New Zealand. This chick has an incredible voice and some truly catchy songs. She actually reminds me a lot of Lana Del Rey, except without the gross lyrics. I strongly recommend you listen to Tennis Court, Buzzcut Season, and Million Dollar Bills.

Rock Band

Video Game
Payday 2

Payday 2 is a cooperative indie game where you try to rob banks, jewelry stores, and so on, taking down hundreds of cops in the process. As fun as it is, there’s one annoying aspect to the game: The stealth is completely broken. Unfortunately, stealthing through games like this is the thing I like best. It’s pretty annoying when something outside of my control ruins a five-minute sneaky expedition through the back of a bank vault, erasing all that effort when two dozen SWAT officers show up within thirty seconds to blow my head off. Ugh. Still, the progressive skill trees and the ability to play with my girlfriend keep me going.

Rock Band

I decided to use my free time to learn the drums. What better way to be introduced to the instrument than with the crappy Rock Band drum set collecting dust in my basement? I pulled it out and started a career on Hard difficulty, and lo and behold, I sucked. Still, I kept at it, barely passing songs. Now I’m stuck on a couple toughies and taking the time to learn them in practice mode. In just three days I’ve noticed a substantial improvement in my feet-to-hand coordination and rhythm. I think I might be able to play a basic song on a real kit in just a few months’ time if I keep it up!

Leave a Reply

