Brain Sprinkles 18

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Book
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Welp, I finally finished The Goblet of Fire and moved onto the fifth (and biggest) book in Rowling’s fantasy series. I’m shocked to learn she’s hardly improved her writing style by this point. Adverbs everywhere! So annoying. I’m only a quarter of the way through the novel, and Harry’s only just arrived at Hogwarts, but it seems like some series stuff is going down with Voldemort. I can’t wait for the poop to hit the fan.

Grave Encounters 2

Movie
Grave Encounters 2

This is one meta movie. Like The Human Centipede 2, Grave Encounters 2 is a sequel that alludes to the first movie as a work of fiction. In Grave Encounters 2, a group of film students is contacted by an anonymous YouTube user who says the original movie is real. The protagonist investigates and persuades his friends to follow him to the hospital the first movie took place in. It’s really well done (except for the fact that the protag decides to enter the hospital when he’s convinced the original movie is real; I mean, who in their right mind would do that?). The ending is a bit wtf-y, but all in all, it’s a good movie, even though it’s not as fun as the first flicked and it takes 45 minutes to get scary.

Maps & Atlases

Music
Maps & Atlases

I remember when my friends originally showed me this band, I hated them. The guy’s voice was annoying, and their indie rock music was all over the place. Now, years later, they’re still not my favorite band, but I gotta admit I enjoy them. Apparently they used to be a metal band, so the guitarists are naturally insane, playing riffs at ridiculous speeds. The singer’s voice is still nasally and weird, but in a good way, I guess. Check out Big Bopper Anthems and Songs for Ghosts to Haunt To.

The Walking Dead

TV Drama
The Walking Dead

One of my favorite shows is back for its fifth season. If you haven’t seen it, stop reading now ’cause I’m discussing spoilers. Season four left off with Rick and his friends trapped by cannibals. By the end of the season five premiere, they’d been rescued and escaped. It was exciting and tense and awesome, but I expected their escape to take multiple episodes or maybe even the whole season. Now that they’re free, what’s next? I felt like their entrapment was a gimmick to end season four on a cliffhanger considering they escaped to easily and quickly, but who am I to judge? I just love zombie fiction. Speaking of which, reading my zombie story Xombie Xing right here on my blog!

Guacamelee! Super Turbo Championship Edition

Video Game
Guacamelee! Super Turbo Championship Edition

This side-scrolling platformer beat-’em-up is great. It’s challenging, satisfying, and fun. It’s got awesome art and a great soundtrack. If you like 2D indie games, there’s no reason to not try Guacamelee! Be warned: The platforming can be tough, and some of the bosses on the hardest difficulty are relentless. Bring a friend.

Natural Doctrine

I reviewed this game for IGN, and it was awful. Just the worst. Read my review if you dare.

Leave a Reply

