Brain Sprinkles 17

I got to watch more horror movies this week! Hooray! Also I started freelancing again for various websites, so look for links to some of my work right here on Brain Sprinkles.

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

Shutter

Movie
Lovely Molly

This flick is about demon possession…I think. What’s great about it is you’re never really sure if something paranormal is going on or if the main character, Molly, is simply suffering from psychotic issues thanks to her late father’s sexual abuse. There’s some truly disturbing scenes and your typical borderline brain-dead characters that can’t for the life of them do the smart thing that’ll make everything better, but Lovely Molly is decent enough if you’re looking for scares.

Re-Cut

My girlfriend told me this indie movie is great. It’s not. It’s a found footage film about guys who go from New York to Wisconsin to make a documentary about a reporter who had her fifteen minutes of fame as a star on a dating show. The journalist is busy uncovering the secrets behind a double homicide of twins. Secrets are revealed (poorly), and the conclusion isn’t done well, and a lot is left to speculation, but the movie gets its name from the fact that the found footage is taped under a snuff film whose origins are revealed in the final minutes.

Shutter

Shutter is a 2004 Thai movie, and it’s the best horror film I’ve seen in a while. It’s about a couple who hits a girl with their car, killing her, and drive off. Their lives slowly crumble as the ghost of the girl haunt them. As the movie progresses and you think it’s a standard fare ghost tale, plot points are revealed that take Shutter to the next level. The last few minutes of the film gave me the absolute creeps, and the crescendo leading up to the climax is a thrilling ride. I strongly recommend this film if you want a spooky good time.

Summer Darkness 2011

Music
Tying Tiffany

Keeping with the creepy vibes of the horror movies I’ve been watching, there’s Tying Tiffany, who honestly gives me the willies. Just listen to her music. It’s like industrial post-rock (I think I just made that up), but some of it can be as unsettling as looking at pictures of this chick on Google Images. However, I think I’m warming up to her style. Check out Universe and One Second.

Neverending Nightmares

Video Game
Neverending Nightmares

I reviewed this game for CGMagazine, and instead of telling what you I said there, I’ll just provide the link!

Leave a Reply

