Brain Sprinkles 16

I didn’t watch enough horror movies this week, but now that October is officially here, no more slacking! I’ll watch a few more for Brain Sprinkles 17. Here’s hoping they’re better than the atrocity I watched this week…

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

The Fault in Our Stars

Book
The Fault in Our Stars

So this book became a movie recently, and that’s how I heard about it. I needed a break from the fantastical world of Harry Potter (just finished the fourth book), and so I decided to give this novel a read. At only 65,000-ish words, I burned through this sucker pretty quick. For those who don’t know, it’s about a cancer-riddled teenage girl who falls in love with another cancer patient. Naturally, there’s tragedy. While I didn’t cry, I feel like I should have, but a few parts of the book turned me off: namely, the unrealistic way the protagonists converse with each other. I mean, honestly, they talk more like aged philosophers than teenagers. But I digress. Pretty good book.

Au Revoir Simone

Music
Au Revoir Simone

I heard one of this band’s songs in a mall store last week. I made my girlfriend stop so I could listen to it (it was Shadows, for those of you who care). I don’t regret it. Au Revoir Simone is an all-female indie dream pop trio, and they rock. I especially love the trance-y feel of their latest album, Move in Spectrums. Check out We Both Know and Just Like a Tree.

Nothing Left to Fear

Movie
Nothing Left to Fear

Wow. This movie sucked. It’s about a family that moves to a country town so the dad can be the new pastor of a church secretly comprised of psychos who worship the devil and invite a demon to possess the dad’s daughter for…reasons. Of course, these reasons are never explained and motives are never given. Worst of all is the movie wasn’t even scary. Truly there is nothing left to fear. Maybe I’m becoming desensitized…

Middle-earth - Shadow of Mordor

Video Game
Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor

This is the game that’s gonna get me back into Lord of the Rings. Think the parkour element of Assassin’s Creed mixed with the combat of Batman: Arkham Asylum and you get a basic idea of what this game is. Then throw in brutal finishers, beheadings, and a sweet nemesis system that turns the whole game into a unique and personally tailored experience and you’ve got a recipe for a fantastic game. I picked up Shadow of Mordor Tuesday and I have to be at least fifty percent done as of Thursday night already. Addicting stuff.

Leave a Reply

