Brain Sprinkles 13

Hey, guys. So, fall is almost here. Isn’t that awesome? Best season 45 BC to 2014 AD, am I right? ‘Course I am. Anyway, just a few things to add to my ever-growing list of consumed content this week. As far as original content goes, however, I started writing zombie fiction, and reactions are positive! The first two chapters are live, so give them a read, maybe?

Okay, cool. Thanks. Enjoy the post.

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

Kill la KillAnime
Kill la Kill

This anime was easily my favorite of last year. It was produced by Trigger, the studio responsible for Gurren Lagann, one of the best anime I’ve ever seen. Kill la Kill is about a high school student, Ryuko, who’s trying to find her dad’s killer. The school president, Satsuki, is hiding something, and Ryuko has to fight her for answers. All the students wear lewd clothes that give them extraordinary powers, and the anime gets pretty deep into interesting topics like body-shaming, all with a healthy dose of fanservice. But seriously, the story is great, the action is top-notch, and the music is radical. The series officially wrapped up a few days ago with its long-awaited OVA, and now it’s over for good. That makes me sad. Can’t wait to see what Trigger does next.

The Simpsons

Cartoon
The Simpsons

Up until this week, I had never watched a single, full episode of The Simpsons before. I love Futurama, and after such positive reactions to FXX’s Simpsons marathon, I figured why not dive in? It’s just another cartoon to have on while I grind my Pokémon. Even with its crappy animation and weird sound effects in the first season (what more do you expect with a cartoon that’s 25 years old?), I can tell there’s something special about this show. The same roots of uniqueness can be found in Futurama as well. I’m excited to see where the series goes, even if it does get bad in its later years.

Sufjan Stevens

Music
Sufjan Stevens

Oh, man. If you don’t know who Sufjan Stevens in, I’m so over you, okay? He is, quite simply, a genius. His music transcends anything I thought folk music could be. Even his “bad” songs (I’m looking at you, Satan’s Saxophones) are just a part of the whole that makes up Sufjan’s ingenuity. He sings about everything from serial killers in the most chilling song I’ve ever heard, John Wayne Gacy, Jr., to Jesus Christ with To Be Alone with You. He has far too many amazing songs to name here, but definitely give Djohariah, I Want to be Well, Casimir Pulaski Day, The Transfiguration, and Impossible Soul a listen.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

