Brain Sprinkles 12

I got a lot done this week, even if half of the content I consumed was garbage. Oh well.

Hey, so while I’ve got you here, I thought I’d give you an update on what the content I’ve been creating. Some of you know I’ve been working on my own fantasy manuscript. I started in mid-April and finished the first draft last month at over 120,000 words. I’m taking a step back from my work for a bit to let it simmer, and I’ll start editing in November, most likely. I’ve never completed such a large single piece of writing before; most of my early work only made it to 30,000 words before I lost momentum. Anyway, here’s a pic of the massive manuscript for those interested.

Lucidity

Now that I’ve completed that and I’m waiting before editing, I feel kinda empty not writing anything in the meantime, you know? I was thinking of starting my own zombie story. “Well, how original, Jake!” you’re exclaiming aloud to your computer monitor with only a hint of sarcasm in your tone. Just let me finish, jerk. I was thinking of writing a zombie story where the only thing I plan out in advance are the characters. In other words, the story, setting, and so on can go in any feasible direction at any point. Think of it like a Dungeons & Dragons game where my consciousness plays each character and my subconsciousness is the Dungeon Master. I’d release short chapters every week or so and see what happens. I think it could be fun experimental writing I could take part in during my hiatus from work on my fantasy novel. What do you think? Should I go for it?  Lemme know in the comments below or tweet me.

Anyway, enjoy the post!

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

American Dad!

Cartoon
American Dad!

I’m not proud of these two entries, but Seth MacFarlane’s adult cartoons are one of my guilty pleasures. I can space out watching while working on my Pokémon at the same time (see below). Anyway, I like American Dad!, to an extent. Sure, it’s the same exact formula as each of MacFarlane’s shows, but the lack of cutaway gags and ridiculous, over-the-top, non-canon jokes make American Dad! MacFarlane’s strongest cartoon—in my opinion, anyway.

Family Guy

What has this show turned into? I don’t think Family Guy was ever necessarily good, per se, but it’s always been a decent cartoon when you want to veg out on the couch and use literally zero brain power. However, its latest season was a train wreck of terrible jokes that had absolutely no place in the show. And now it’s gotten to the point where the show breaks its own canon, which is frustrating because the writers sacrifice what little integrity Family Guy has for a few yucks. I recall one scene in which Peter looks at a map of a mall before getting shot in the head by a sniper, only to be alive in well in the next scene. Now, I know it’s a cartoon, but Family Guy never used to feature jokes like these, and if it did, they’d be in cutaways where it was okay to feature them. Maybe I’m over-analyzing this. Probably. Whatever.

Guardians of the Galaxy

Movie
Guardians of the Galaxy

I’m not a movie guy. I used to be a Marvel guy, but I’m not anymore. There are three universes now, all competing with each other, which means you’ll never see Spider-Man share the screen with Wolverine and stuff like that. And now that Disney owns Marvel, well, I just don’t know anymore. It’s a mess. Still, I decided to see Guardians simply because people wouldn’t shut up about it. I’d never even heard of this property before I saw the movie’s trailer, but it was so hilarious, I knew I had to check it out. I wasn’t disappointed. I think Guardians’ greatest success is its perfect blend of comedy, action, and emotion. They all surface at just the right moment, and the movie never stagnates. Plus, each character is top-notch. I can’t wait for the sequel. Watch it if you haven’t.

BleachersMusic
Best Coast

I downloaded this indie band because I heard one of their songs at the GAP once and thought they might be decent. They’re not my jam. I think they’re qualified as surf pop. Think modern day Beach Boys. Nearly every single song is about love. Between both albums, only one song is longer than three minutes. The songs transition from one to the next and I hardly noticed because they each sound nearly identical in melody, key, and style. By the end of both albums, I was done. I won’t say they’re bad, but they bored me. Check out When I’m With You, if you feel so inclined.

Bleachers

I don’t think I’ve listened to a single album more to determine how I feel about it than Bleachers’ Strange Desire. In the end, I have to say this indie pop band leans too far towards the pop end for me to truly love them, but they do have some tracks I like. Listen to Reckless Love and You’re Still a Mystery.

Pokemon X

Video Game
Pokémon X

Every few months, this RPG series pulls me back in and doesn’t let go. I’ve poured more hours into the Pokémon RPGs than any other game in my life. Right now I’m sitting at 350 hours in Pokémon X. How does this happen? Well, it’s easy. It takes me about 60 hours to finish one of these games, taking my time to enjoy the story, explore the world, and capture new Pokémon. Then, after beating the game, I spend a few hours collecting Pokémon I don’t have. But the real chunk of my playtime comes from relentless breeding. I turn the daycare center into a demented puppy mill, spending hundreds of hours creating genetically flawless monstrosities. I could breed a Magikarp that could turn your Garchomp into soup. After breeding one of these beasts using everything but the love and care Pokémon teaches kids to have for their fighting friends, I EV train them (a form of training that makes them even more deadly than before), teach them the best movesets, and level them up to 100. Right now I’ve got about 30 Pokémon I’ve done this to, and my list of Pokémon I’ve yet to breed, train, and level grows all the time. It’s a problem, and I love it. Hit me up on Twitter if you wanna trade, discuss, or berate me for how I treat my Pokémon. Maybe I’ll give some of my leftovers away.

Leave a Reply

