Brain Sprinkles 11

I’m still working on a lot of stuff I’ve mentioned in previous posts, so there’s little to add this week. Have a good time reading anyway!

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

Ben Howard

Music
Ben Howard

Another indie folk musician. Can’t get enough of those, right? Something about Howard is incredibly relaxing to me. It doesn’t hurt that most of his songs fall somewhere between folk and rock, thanks to the addition of bass and drums to several of his tunes. I don’t think his album Every Kingdom will catch the attention of everyone who listens to him, but I found the music charming and pleasant. If you dug The Tallest Man on Earth, who I mentioned a few posts ago, you’ll probably enjoy Howard’s music. Listen to Only Love and Black Flies.

Video Game
Diablo III

My girlfriend and I picked this game up on an impulse. We were itching for a fun co-op experience to play on our Xbox One, and Diablo III delivered. I’d played Torchlight (basically the indie version of Diablo that many claim is a superior game) in the past, but I never got more than a few hours into it. Maybe because Torchlight is a solo-only game. Diablo III is definitely more fun with a buddy or two tagging along. Even the couch co-op is a blast. Killing and looting hasn’t gotten old yet. I can see myself maxing out all six character classes and beyond. I’m looking forward to dozens of more hours slaying hordes of demons and finding treasure in the deepest dungeons. If you’re looking for a new-gen co-op game to tide you over until the winter’s slew of releases, look no further.

The Walking Dead Season 2 Episode 5: No Going Back

Welp, after months of playing as Clementine, it finally came to an end. It had to eventually, right? It was a harrowing, emotional journey, and I won’t spoil what happens here, but I kind of predicted one of the major decisions you’re forced to make near the end of the game. Overall I liked season one more, but playing as Clementine and seeing her growth was a treat, too. I don’t like how some of my decisions felt like they had no impact on the game’s story and conclusion, but what can ya do? Telltale has confirmed a third season, so I’m stoked for that.

Leave a Reply

