Brain Sprinkles 10

If there’s one entry you read this week, make it Saga. Please. Enjoy the post.

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

Saga

Comic Book
Saga

I finally caught up on Fables after mentioning it in Brain Sprinkles 1 and decided to dive into Brian Vaughan’s sci-fi comic series, Saga. Man, what a book. I’m only about six issues in (there are currently 18 issues released, I believe), and I can’t get enough. The story follows Marko and Alana. two inter-species lovers, and their baby, Hazel, the product of their forbidden love. Marko’s and Alana’s races have been warring each other for decades, but they decide to get married and conceive anyway. This taboo act spurs bounty hunters on both sides to chase after them with orders to capture or kill, and the result is thrilling. Vaughan tackles cliches and tropes in unique and interesting ways, and the art and color by Fionna Staples is breathtaking. Each issue brings surprises, and the story often travels in unpredictable directions. It’s nothing short of thrilling, and even if you’re not into comics, this is a piece of creative fiction no one should pass up.

San Fermin

Music
San Fermin

It was a busy week at work, so that means I only got to listen to one new band. San Fermin is described as baroque pop. I don’t know what that genre is; all I know is that it doesn’t sound like traditional pop music because it features orchestral instruments and choirs and whatnot. That’s a good thing, but I’m still not exactly sure if San Fermin is my style. The first song I listened to, Sonsick, immediately drew me in, but the rest of their album doesn’t exactly feel like that song. The male singer took me a while to warm up to (he’s so deep and mature-sounding, which is new to me), but now I like it. Listen to Renaissance! and Bar if you like Sonsick. Maybe you’ll get a kick out of them.

Outlast

Video Game
Outlast

Outlast is an indie horror game, and it’s one of the scariest games I’ve ever played. You play as a journalist investigating a supposedly closed down insane asylum who quickly discovers there’s more going on than there should be. Armed with nothing but a night vision camera (that runs out of batteries way faster than it should), there’s no way to fight the absolutely terrifying enemies that roam the desolate, gritty hallways of this mental hospital. It’s gripping, intense, and terrifying, and I loved playing it in the middle of the night with my girlfriend next to me, jumping at every noise. The final chapter and the cliche ending were incredibly misplaced and weak, but over, Outlast held my attention. The game is short, but it’s got some achievements that give it a good amount of replayability. I recommend it to any horror buffs out there.

The Walking Dead Season 2 Episode 4: Amid the Ruins

Critics said episode four of Telltale’s The Walking Dead’s second season was its weakest yet, and I’m inclined to agree. Not much happened, and I felt the choices I had to made as Clementine didn’t matter in the end (I worked hard to save one character at the beginning of the episode only for her to inevitably die at the end). The game is making me bitter towards humans, too. I always make Clem try to do the right thing, like not stealing, and it never fails to come back and bite me in the butt. Ugh. Still, that’s how the story goes, so I can’t really fault the devs for that. The season finale is right around the corner, and Telltale released a five-minute trailer chock full of spoilers, but for those who are caught up, it’s a touching look at the series thus far. I can’t wait for the final episode.

Leave a Reply

