Brains Sprinkles 3

Edition three already? Where does the time go? This week I talk about a cool interactive creepypasta I found, so be sure to read about that. Scary is good.

Creativity is one of the most important things a human being can express. It’s good for our brains, our hearts, and our souls. It allows people to explore themselves and others in a deep way, something introspection and discussion can’t always do. When consuming others’ creative works, you’re getting a piece of who they are as a person, whether they wanted or intended that or not.

Creativity allows us to function as a society. We’re not merely surviving—we’re living, hour to hour and day to day. How we spend our time digesting others’ creative works—whether that’s a movie, a novel, or a collection of poems—is important to how we grow as people and a community of human beings. I hope reading about the creative content I enjoy (or don’t) gets your creative juices flowing and inspires you to make something great and uniquely your own. At the very least maybe you’ll discover something new you might be interested in.

Steins;Gate

Anime
Steins;Gate

This anime. Oh man, this anime. This show has convinced me that anime should be held to the same pedigree as popular TV dramas. Steins;Gate is the story of a self-proclaimed mad scientist and his friends who accidentally discover time travel. It starts out slow, allowing time (heh) for the viewer to really connect and fall in love with the unique and likable characters. Then, without warning, the entire atmosphere of the anime shifts and throws you through a roller coaster of emotion that doesn’t seem likely to stop. I’m only on episode 17 of 24, but the temptation to marathon the series was hard to resist after episode 12 or so. Steins;Gate is funny, clever, charming, and brilliant (so long as you can make it past the slow beginning), and I highly recommend it to fans of sci fi, anime, and good stories in general.

The Dear Hunter

Music
The Dear Hunter

I’m really not sure how to feel about this band. The group is…unusual, that much is certain. The Dear Hunter’s first three albums are much like The Antlers’ Hospice in that each song is part of one cohesive story. It’s set up like a play, with each album named Act I, Act II, and so on, and each record has a different subtitle. The story follows a character named “The Dear Hunter” or “The Boy” who was born to a prostitute. The band allegedly plans for the story to take place over six albums, but they’re only on Act III when their first album dropped in 2006—in other words, they’ve got a ways to go. I, frankly, love this idea. Their approach to music is different, and storytelling through songwriting can be incredible. I just can’t get over the lead singer’s somewhat generic rock band-sounding voice, and most of the songs are forgettable to me. What this band is doing is interesting enough for me to pay attention, though, so I’ll have my eye on them for a while. Who knows? Maybe they’ll grow on me after a few more listens. If you’re interested, check out Smiling Swine (at least make it to the counting part).

Mass Effect Original Soundtracks

The Mass Effect games are great. Also great are their soundtracks. I downloaded all three of them (plus all the bonus ones for Mass Effect 2) because they’re basically just ambient noise that’s calm and chill (though there’s plenty of upbeat battle music). Basically, it’s good background noise. Plus, two songs from Canadian indie band Faunt are featured on the albums, so that’s a nice bonus. Listen to Uncharted Worlds; it’s a relaxing song and great to write to. And now I want to play Mass Effect 3…

My Father's Long, Long Legs

Novel
My Father’s Long, Long Legs

Full disclosure: This isn’t a novel but an interactive creepypasta (a short, scary online story), but because I didn’t want to create a whole new category for it, I just threw it in here. I’ve always loved reading creepypasta (check out Reddit’s creepypasta board, r/nosleep, for more stuff like this), but My Father’s Long, Long Legs is unique because it requires the reader’s participation. You click on phrases to advance the story, and at one point you “control” it, in a certain respect. I don’t want to say too much because it will spoil the fun, but I suggest dimming the lights, putting on your headphones, and taking ten minutes to creep yourself out with this fun little tale.

The Wolf Among Us

Video Game
The Wolf Among Us Episode 4: In Sheep’s Clothing

I finally got around to playing the fourth episode of Telltale Game’s The Wolf Among Us series. This game is what got me into Bill Willingham’s Fable comics (you might remember me mentioning the series in Brain Sprinkles 1), and I can’t tell which version is better because they’re both so darn good at capturing the world of Fabletown. Sure, Willingham invented the series, but Telltale’s execution is every bit as raw and realistic as the comic — perhaps moreso considering there’s animation and voice acting on top of the intriguing murder mystery story. Episode five drops Tuesday to wrap up the season, and I’m excited to see how things turn out. If you like Telltale’s take on The Walking Dead and haven’t given The Wolf Among Us a shot, you’re doing yourself a disservice. And if you’re a fan of point-and-click or text adventure games and haven’t checked out anything this developer has done, well, you’re just crazy.

Leave a Reply

